On occasion a person is added into the family tree, but later is discovered to be in the wrong place. To remove them from their current family so you can link them in the proper family, you would unlink the person from their present family. There are three options available:
•Unlink from a spouse
•Unlink from a parents
•Unlink family members
Unlinking from a spouse
To unlink a person from a spouse:
1.Highlight the person you want to unlink from his or her spouse. Make sure the spouse from which you want to unlink is displayed. Then do one of the following:
oSelect Edit > Unlink > Unlink from Spouse from the menu
oClick right mouse button, select Unlink, then Unlink from spouse
oFind the person on the People page, Life Summary side panel as a spouse or parent, click the 3 dot menu to the right of their name and select "Unlink person"
2.The Unlink from Spouse window shows the family, with the person you selected highlighted.
3.You will be asked to confirm that you want to unlink the person as a parent in the family. Select "Unlink" to unlink the person, or "Cancel" to cancel.
Unlinking from parents
To unlink a person from his or her parents and siblings:
1.Highlight the person you want to unlink from his or her parents. Make sure the parents from which you want to unlink is displayed. Then do one of the following:
oSelect Edit > Unlink > Unlink from Parents from the menu
oClick right mouse button, select Unlink, then Unlink from parents
oFind the person on the People page, Life Summary side panel as a child, click the 3 dot menu to the right of their name and select "Unlink person"
2.The Unlink from Parents window shows the family, with the person you selected highlighted.
3.You will be asked to confirm that you want to unlink the person as a child in the family. Select "Unlink" to unlink the person, or "Cancel" to cancel.
Unlinking from family members
To unlink family members from each other:
1.Highlight a person in the family you want to unlink from each other, then do one of the following
oSelect Edit > Unlink > Unlink family members from the menu
oClick right mouse button, select Unlink, then Unlink family members
2.The Unlink family members dialog will appear showing the family members who will be unlinked from each other.
3.You will be asked to confirm that you want to unlink the family members. Select "Unlink" to unlink the family members from each other, or "No" to cancel.
Reattach an existing person
Unlinking removes a family connection while leaving the person available in the database. After unlinking, find the correct relative, choose the appropriate Add spouse, Add parents, or Add child command, and select the existing person instead of entering a new person.
Review the affected families afterward, including children and family events. Make a backup before reorganizing several families so that you can inspect the original arrangement if needed. See Adding people for existing-person selection.